Search

How to remove your iCloud account from your iPhone/iPad

Have you decided to sell your iPhone to get an upgrade? Did you know you need to remove your iCloud account before any new buyer can log into their own iCloud account? Or maybe you have decided to set up a new iCloud account if so, you will still need to remove your current iCloud account before you can use a new one on your iPhone.


Believe it or not, it's extremely easy to remove your iCloud account but, if you’re unsure how to remove your iCloud account from your iPhone, then why not follow our simple steps below to assist you with this:


The first thing to know when dealing with your iCloud account is, you need to know your password. The password you need is the same as you use to make a purchase on the app store, or what you need to entre when you want to download an app, not the password to initially gain access on to your iPhone.


The next thing is to ensure you have backed up your iPhone to ensure you don’t lose any important data. The easiest wait to back up your iPhone is to make sure it's back up onto your iCloud. You can set up for the backups to be done automatically periodically or you can do it as and when required.


Once you have backed up your iPhone and you are sure you know the password to your iCloud, you can proceed to remove your iCloud account by using the following next steps.


So, you want to start off by going onto the settings on your iPhone and tap on your name which will be located at the top of the settings menu. Then you need to scroll down to the bottom of your iPhone screen until the ‘sign out’ option is displayed.


You will then need to click o the ‘sign out’ option, you will then be prompted to enter your password which is linked with your Apple ID, this is the password that is linked to your app store.


Once you have entered your password, you should then click the ‘turn off’ option. Next, you will be able to select any data which you would like to keep a copy of on your iPhone. Next you ‘sign out’.


A confirmation message will show up on your iPhone screen, this is to confirm that you do want to remove your iCloud account, if you are happy to do so, you will need to acknowledge this on the confirmation warning message. This will then sign you out.


Now you have removed your iCloud account, you are free to create a new Apple ID or iCloud account, or sell your phone allowing the buyer to connect their own Apple ID/ iCloud account to the phone.


Need to remove your iCloud account from your Ipad too? not a problem, just follow the same instructions as above.


A quick tip if you are buying a second-hand iPhone, is to make sure you always check that the previous owners' iCloud account has been removed. iCloud accounts can only be removed from the account owner so if you have not checked that the iCloud account has been removed, you will not be able to access any of your own personal items stored on your own iCloud account. It would effectively become a doorstop to you.


At our repair shop in Gravesend, Kent we buy your unwanted phones, we are only able to do so if the iCloud has been removed, so if you are looking to sell your old devices, feel free to get in touch but just remember, you will need to ensure your iCloud account has been wiped.




0 views

GAME SHACK LTD 
61 Pelham Road South

Gravesend

Kent

DA11 8QS 

01474 520 741 

  • b-facebook
bni-proud-member-logo-484E358134-seeklog
logo.png

© 2020 Of Game Shack LTD